Founded in 1868, the Parish of Trinity originally met in a Barlow Block basement on Main Street and was founded by returning Union Veterans from the Village of Sing Sing. The new parish became a tenant in the original wooden structure of First Presbyterian Church, then located on the present site at 7 South Highland Avenue.
Under the pastoral guidance of our eighth rector, the Reverend Canon Charles P. Pridemore, Trinity built on its liturgical roots in Anglo-Catholic worship, while proclaiming the Gospel of Christ to Ossining and the wider community. Some innovations in our worship instituted by Father Pridemore include the Blessing of the Animals on St. Francis’ Day and the Service of Lessons and Carols at Christmas.
Today, Trinity is enjoying renewal under the leadership of the Rev. Cooper Conway (who is also Priest-in-Charge at our sister Parish of St. Paul’s on-the-Hill) while we explore new ways of worshipping and connecting to each other and to the wider community.
Our parish is home to people from different ethnic and cultural backgrounds. We are single, engaged, married, widowed, gay and lesbian, parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles. Together we are a loving family known as Trinity Church, living our lives as Christ would have us live them.
Those who have provided clerical leadership are:
The Rev. Clarence E. Buell, 1868-1871
The Rev. George W. Ferguson, 1872-1905
The Rev. Gibson W. Harris, 1907-1937
The Rev. Edward N. West, 1937-1941
The Rev. Donald W. Lloyd, 1941-1974
The Rev. F. George Arndt, 1974-1984
The Rev. J. Kevin Philips, 1985-1989
The Rev. Vincent Young (Priest-in-Charge), 1990-1992
The Rev. Canon Charles P. Pridemore, 1994-2011
The Rev. Cooper Conway (Interim), 2011-2013
The Rev. Cooper Conway (Priest-in-Charge), 2015-